Why Gambia

The Gambia, one of the poorest countries in the world, lacks everything. Especially perspectives. We want to create these: A new construction technology creates jobs, the Plastic Bottle Garden works against latent malnutrition and the Community Centre is a place for creativity and inspiration. In this way, we protect the environment and reduce poverty and the causes of flight.

General

The Gambia is the smallest and one of the poorest countries on the African continent. The country has no mineral resources, manufacturing industry or other significant economic activities. 

The Anglophone Gambia is surrounded by Senegal except for the Atlantic coast and has about 2 million inhabitants.

80 per cent of the population is under 25 years of age with a youth unemployment rate of 45 per cent and a good half of the people live below the poverty line.

A country on the rise

In a change of power in 2016, the repressive dictator was replaced by a democratic government and now the country is undergoing a transformation process that brings with it profound changes and, in addition to many hopes and expectations, just as many disappointments and frustrations as well as the danger of political instability.

After the change of power, the government presented a development plan with extensive reforms. The economy is destroyed, the infrastructure inefficient and dilapidated, the state resources exploited and there are gigantic social challenges. 

The biggest problem is the lack of prospects for young people, which was first identified by the Barrow government as a cause of illegal migration. The Gambia has one of the highest migration rates in the world.

Poverty and lack of perspective

Many Gambians work as sex workers on the beaches and in the tourist areas. Due to the lack of tourists, many are moving to Europe. 

Another problem is the country's extreme debt burden, which has been systematically exploited by the Jammeh government. For this reason, neither new investments in the country are possible, nor is there access to credit on the financial market for the private sector. A disastrous infrastructure also leads to high prices for consumer goods, as the country is heavily dependent on exports. The education and health systems are equally problematic, access to knowledge and information is severely limited for the young population, and women in particular need to be promoted.

Support us

Become a sustaining member and support The Neem Tree Yard e.V. with a monthly donation starting at 5€ or donate a one-time amount of your choice.

Thank you for your attention

Impressum     AGB     Datenschutz

Warum Gambia

In Gambia, einem der ärmsten Länder der Welt, fehlt es an Allem. Insbesondere an Perspektiven. Diese wollen wir schaffen: Durch eine neue Bautechnologie entstehen Arbeitsplätze, der Plastic Bottle Garden wirkt gegen die latente Unterernährung und der Community Center ist ein Ort für Kreativität und Inspiration. So schützen wir die Umwelt, mindern Armut und Fluchtursachen.

Allgemein

Gambia ist das kleinste und eines der ärmsten Länder des afrikanischen Kontinents. Das Land verfügt weder über Bodenschätze, produzierende Industrie oder andere nennenswerte Wirtschaftsaktivitäten. 

Das anglophone Gambia ist bis auf die Atlantikküste vom Senegal umgeben und hat ca. 2 Mio Einwohner.

80 Prozent der Bevölkerung sind jünger als 25 Jahre bei einer Jugendarbeitslosigkeitsquote von 45 Prozent und gut die Hälfte der Menschen lebt unterhalb der Armutsgrenze.

Ein Land im Aufbruch

Bei einem Machtwechsel 2016 wurde der repressive Diktator durch eine demokratische Regierung abgelöst und nun befindet sich das Land in einem Transformationsprozess, der tiefgreifende Veränderungen mit sich bringt und neben vielen Hoffnungen und Erwartungen auch ebenso viele Enttäuschungen und Frustration sowie die Gefahr politischer Instabilität.

Die Regierung legte nach dem Machtwechsel einen Entwicklungsplan mit umfangreichen Reformen vor. Die Wirtschaft ist zerstört, die Infrastruktur ineffizient und marode, die Staatsressourcen ausgebeutet und es gibt gigantische soziale Herausforderungen. 

Das größte Problem ist die Perspektivlosigkeit für junge Menschen, die von der Regierung Barrow erstmals als Ursache für illegale Migration benannt wurde. Gambia hat eine der höchsten Migrationsraten der Welt.

Armut und Perspektivlosigkeit

Zahlreiche Gambier verdingen sich an den Stränden und in den touristischen Gebieten als Sexarbeiter. Aufgrund ausbleibender Touristen zieht es viele nach Europa. 

Ein weiteres Problem ist die extreme Schuldenlast des Landes, das durch die Regierung Jammeh systematisch ausgebeutet wurde. Aus diesem Grund sind weder neue Investitionen im Land möglich, noch gibt es Zugang zu Krediten auf dem Finanzmarkt für den privaten Sektor. Eine desaströse Infrastruktur führt zusätzlich zu hohen Preisen für Gebrauchsgüter, da das Land stark abhängig vom Export ist. Ebenso problematisch sind das Bildungs- und das Gesundheitssystem, für die junge Bevölkerung ist der Zugang zu Wissen und Information stark eingeschränkt und insbesondere Frauen müssen gefördert werden.

Unterstützen Sie uns

Werden Sie Fördermitglied und unterstützen The Neem Tree Yard e.V. mit einer monatlichen Spende ab 5€ oder spenden einen einmaligen Betrag in beliebiger Höhe.

Vielen Dank für Ihre Aufmerksamkeit

Impressum     AGB     Datenschutz